We’re Number… TWO!

I’m proud of this, from the Popular Woodworking Magazine blog:

“As we’re wrapping up 2010, any good company takes a look at what products sold well during the year. We’re doing the same, and it’s an interesting mix of the ten top-selling books of the last year. The list tells us what our readers are interested in, and what it may tell you is what books you may be just as interested in reading. Starting from #10, the list is as follows:

#10 – Box by Box
A favorite book with some great projects that has been selling well for four years now. Still a great book for any level woodworker.

#9 – Greene & Greene Furniture
Published earlier this summer, this is an amazing book documenting the furniture of designers Charles and Henry Greene. Full of original photos and amazing details.


#8 – Workbenches
A bestseller for three years, this book looks at the history of benches and talks about the features that make sense for your woodworking needs.

#7 – Popular Woodworking’s Arts & Crafts Furniture
Another favorite for fans of Arts & Crafts furniture. With 25 projects and a bonus CD-rom with even more projects and information, this book is a great collection.

#6 – I Can Do That Woodworking Projects
A great book for the occasional or beginning woodworker. Furniture projects that require minimal tools and materials, withe simple construction.

#5 – Puzzle Boxes
A great mix of boxes with secret compartments and puzzle boxes. Great band saw for every woodworker.

#4 – Easy To Build Birdhouses
25 projects, many designed to blend with their environment, but there are also some whimsical designs. All easy to build and guaranteed to please.

#3 – Birdhouses You Can Build in a Day
We love birdhouse, and it appears to do our readers. This book has been a best-seller for four years now, offering 51 birdhouse and bird feeder projects.

#2 – The Perfect Edge
Brand new this year, this book has all the information any woodworker needs to keep their cutting edges sharp. Excellent information presented in an easy-to-read style. A must have for the woodworking library.

#1 – Made By Hand
And our number one title is a book all about building furniture without power tools. Dedicated to the woodworker who has decided to build with traditional hand tools, this title shows how to use the tools, and how to build contemporary furniture with traditional tools.

– David Thiel

Congratulations to Tom Fidgen for capturing the #1 spot. It’s a great book, deserving the honor.

Thanks to all of you who’ve bought (and read, I hope) The Perfect Edge. I am proud of the book, pleased with the great job David Thiel and Brian Roeth at Popular Woodworking Books did putting it together and I’m especially pleased with the positive comments I continue to receive like this:

Ron, man, I love the book!! I don’t know how I overlooked it earlier. I’ve had to search everywhere to get useful, accurate information about tool steel. Everything on the internet is either somebody’s amateur, second-hand opinion (“Yeah, Rockwell 65 will keep an edge longer but gimme a good high carbon Sheffield O2 over them brittle Japanese chisels any day”) or it’s very general information designed for manufacturing customers. Everything in steel textbooks is designed for metallurgists, never for woodworkers. Blacksmithing and knife-making websites sometimes have good information, but they usually assume more knowledge than I have. I look forward every day to the half an hour of peace when I get to read parts of your book. I think I’ll order a few replacement irons for some of my old bedrocks, just to show a little appreciation for all you do for our hobby. Thank you! — T.H.

The Blade Bucks offer continues, by the way. Order The Perfect Edge (for yourself or someone you think deserves such a great gift). I’ll sign it AND we’ll include a certificate for $10 off your (or their) next order with HOCK TOOLS. Can’t beat that!

Linda and I wish all of you the very best of the holiday season.

About Ron Hock

Owner of HOCK TOOLS (.com) and author of "The Perfect Edge, the Ultimate Guide to Sharpening for Woodworkers"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to We’re Number… TWO!

  1. tom fidgen says:

    top two for 2010 -wow- that calls for a smile and a pat on the back. (and maybe a cup of cheer or two) the perfect edge is the book that opened my eyes to the true world of sharpening- i’m in great company on this list and feel very proud tonight.
    all the best ron- have a safe and healthy holiday season.
    cheers!
    tom fidgen

  2. Andre says:

    Hi Ron,

    Just a quick comment on ‘making it No. 2 on the list’:

    Congratulations on this well deserved spot! Despite being in the ‘digital times’ good books are still useful and needed (I prefer a book to a laptop when by the fireplace anytime).

    I not only enjoyed reading your book Ron, but gained a lot of knowledge through it.

    Thanks for your efforts.

  3. I really had a blast reading your book, and just ordered some of your irons. Thanks for the love you put in your work!

  4. Vic Tesolin says:

    Nice work Tom. I’ve already had a few occasions to reference your book. It was great to meet you at WIA and thanks again for writing a great book.

    Vic Tesolin

  5. Eric says:

    Ron,

    It’s not surprising your book is so popular – it’s a great reference, easy to read, and comprehensive. It has helped me immensely in woodworking.

    -Eric

  6. Gee, I’m surprised the bird house books made it to #3 and #4. I’m glad you beat them!

  7. I actually got the “Made by hand” book this Christmas. I found it really interesting even though I am a huge fan of power tools it is nice to know all thing you can do with hand tools.

  8. I love these DIY books, I just one to build a log cabin in the garden now i have just installed runing water and electricity in to it were thinking of changing it into a hot tub log cabin.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s