“Holy Crap I’m a Plane-Maker!” by Scott Meek

Scott Meek at Handworks 2013 in Amana, Iowa. Photo Credit: Robin MacGregor.

Scott Meek at Handworks 2013
in Amana, Iowa.
Photo Credit: Robin MacGregor.

About a year ago, a strange thing happened. I was at a Lie-Nielsen Hand Tool Event in Raleigh, NC showing off some of my wood body planes. The one and only Roy Underhill was also there, with his spring pole lathe. As is proper with the world, Roy had a rather large crowd around him and he was as entertaining as ever. I’d caught myself entranced by his showmanship many times as well. Suddenly, as I’m watching Roy work, a gentleman turns and looks at me, his eyes go wide, and he walks over to my bench and says, “You’re Scott Meek! I’ve admired your planes for awhile now. It is so exciting to meet you!”

Dumbfounded, all I could find to reply was, “You do realize that was Roy Underhill you were just watching, right?” He told me that he‘d met Roy before but hadn’t yet met me. Then he said,Follow this link for the rest of Scott’s story.

~ by Ron Hock on March 25, 2014.

One Response to ““Holy Crap I’m a Plane-Maker!” by Scott Meek”

  1. Great story I would love to meet you myself. I would love to make my own planes. I have watched your videos over and over. Great job

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

